2017 Commission of Assembly

Published on Wednesday, 04 October 2017 20:15
The Free Church of Scotland was pleased to welcome two new ministers as well as announcing the 2018 Moderator Designate during Wednesday night's Commission of Assembly. The Commission wholeheartedly endorsed the applications of Rev. Jonathan de Groot, formerly of the Church of Scotland and Rev. Dr Roger M. Crooks, formerly of the Presbyterian Church in Ireland. Both are hoping to lead congregations with Jonathan de Groot planning to plant a new church in the Glasgow area while Roger Crooks hopes to be inducted as the minister of Campbeltown Free Church. Rev. Iver Martin, Principal of Edinburgh Theological Seminary, was approved as the Free Church Media Spokesperson. Mr Martin's role will combine general media engagement as well as communication with the Gaelic Press. Rev. David Robertson's temporary role as editor of the Free Church magazine, The Record, will now become permanent for the next three years. The Commission also noted with approval his appointment as the Parliamentary Officer. Commissioners welcomed the news that Rev. Angus MacRae had accepted the nomination of Moderator Designate. Mr MacRae, minister of Dingwall and Strathpeffer Free Church in Ross-shire, will succeed the present Moderator, Rev. Derek Lamont of St Columba's Free Church, at the 2018 General Assembly in May. Angus MacRae has been a Free Church minister for 25 years. Born in Glasgow in 1967 he was brought up in Laxdale, Isle of Lewis and was educated at the Nicolson Institute in Stornoway, Edinburgh University and the Free Church of Scotland College (now Edinburgh Theological Seminary). He was ordained to the ministry at Kilwinning Free Church, Ayrshire, in 1992, moving to his present church in Dingwall in 2001. Married to Ann, a speciality doctor caring for patients with addictions, the couple has three adult children.

Read more https://freechurch.org/news/2017-commission-of-assembly